World AIDS Awareness Day December 1st, 2011


Happy December and please remember that today is World AIDS Awareness Day.  Yes, we get one day dedicated to helping people become aware, understand, and cope with AIDS.

HIV, the gift that keeps on giving.  And there is no place on Earth to return it.  I have AIDS.  I acquired HIV when I had my first cancer surgery on December 26th, 1984.  There was no test to screen for HIV in 1984.  Thankfully, there is one now and it’s been around for awhile.

But, to avoid all of the fear, worry and genuine yuck of it all here are some steps to take to avoid the whole HIV+ issue.

If you are shooting up drugs, and I hope you aren’t, PLEASE don’t share needles.  If you need help getting off drugs, let me know and I will do all I can to help you.  If I can get clean and sober, and stay that way for almost 40 years, so can you.

Next…don’t have sex with everyone.  In fact abstinence has a lot of merits.  If you won’t abstain, then use common sense and stay safe.  Go to your doctor or clinic and get tested.  You no longer have to wait weeks for the result.  There are good medications available now.  Trust me, I was a guinea pig for many of them.  Now, I don’t have to take so many each day.  If you are HIV+ or have full blown AIDS, BE HONEST.  Tell your partner.

Be safe not sick.

Now for more truth.  You can hug me, kiss me, drink from the same fountain I do, you can donate blood (and please do that), you can dance with me, laugh with me, cry with me, touch me.  You do NOT have to move 500 feet away from me.  Yes, my immune system is compromised so please get your flu shot.  Please stay home if you are ill, I pick up illness quicker than you can say Swiffer.

Have a great December 1st evening and wear some red.  Wear RED all month long…in fact buy anything that has the  (red) word on it.  The money goes to a good cause.

Stay safe, happy and smile a lot.

P.S.  Thank you to all who care about this!!!!!

Sarah- Pink Welch © 2011

Facebook: Sarah-Pink’s PromiseAIDSTree1

Leave a Reply

