Lesson #63 Gratitude


Since I have been on Facebook the last few years, I have been getting these questions….”What in the world are you so grateful for?” ”Why are you so happy?” Maybe I don’t think about the questions much, because 99% of the time they are asking because of my health issues and a pretty odd family.
For as long as I can remember, I have walked in gratitude. I really don’t know any other way to be. I have other choices of course….I could stay in bed as I mentioned yesterday, I could be angry, I could be so sad and never laugh, I could even end it all. I don’t even think anyone would be angry about that. Life has not been a bed of roses, but I love meandering my way through the thorns without getting pricked, and I pick tons of pink roses along the journey.
I have never asked, “why me,” in fact I say “why not me?” I am just like any other human; differing in the way I think, look, the way I live, the stuff that makes us all different. I am a human with health issues and the other things we all contend with. So what. I don’t know how to give in or quit fighting for my life. I have a family that is so dysfunctional, I don’t talk with them. So what. I have created my own family made of people that I have been blessed to meet and love. I am human and have my times of sorrow, when I think of those I miss so much. There is nothing more I choose to do about that. Things are what they are and being sad is not fun and not going to change anything, so I do what I need to do to get out of the sadness. Anyone can do that…it isn’t magic. It’s changing the way you think and your life will follow. Happy thoughts–happy life. Not perfect, but happy.
I walk in gratitude. I live in gratitude. I breathe in gratitude. I am content in gratitude. There are so many events, people, and things I am grateful for, I couldn’t possibly list them all.
I am grateful I live in peace. I am grateful for the people in my life. I am grateful for each day I am alive. I live inside a house…not outside. There is food to eat if I choose to eat. There is music to listen to and music to create. There are books to read and learn from. I have love in my life. I like who and what I am. I have friends I love. My husband is my best friend.
My body may not cooperate all the time, but I am still standing. I am grateful to keep moving forward.
I pay attention to other people; I listen and watch them. They “seem” to have it all. ”Seem” is the operative word here. They have the cars, the big houses, the money, the “stuff.” But, if I could change places with them, I wouldn’t. Often, I see them looking miserable…they really don’t have it all. They are lacking gratitude, contentment, authentic joy…..they have to keep accumulating their stuff and don’t include gratitude in any of it. This doesn’t apply to all people, but the majority of those that “have” just have to keep “having.”
My body and my “blood” family may be on the fast track to dysfunction junction, but at least I know who I am, what I am capable of creating, how to rest in gratitude and smile when it rains. And I will continue to move forward with my spirit overflowing with happiness, joy, and gratitude!
I love you all and I am sending you pink, grateful huggz.

Sarah-Pink Welch ©2013

Sarah-Pink’s PromiseGratitude02

Leave a Reply

