Lesson #49 Our Choices Reveal Our Character


Choices. We all have the ability to make choices and when I think about it I can see that our choices reflect our character. This is just my opinion based on my life. There have been moments when my ability to choose were taken away. Mainly because I was very small or I was not physically strong enough…things like that. These days I do all I can to avoid being in a position of not being able to choose. I stay away from people and places that are toxic and dangerous for me. I think this reveals some of my character. Abe Lincoln has been quoted as saying: “Character is like a tree and reputation is like its shadow. The shadow is what we think of it; the tree is the real thing.” I love this quote.
If we choose positively over and over again, it will be reflected in our character. The same is true if we keep choosing badly. I really think our character speaks volumes to other folks.
Making good choices adds to our character which is made up of many components. Honesty, reliability, compassion, responsibility, appreciation of others, kindness, faithful, doing and saying the next right thing and more. One of my character flaws in staying in touch with people. I get over 100 messages a day here….and for whatever reason Facebook hides them so I have to hunt for them. I appreciate all the kind messages I receive and do my best to get back to people but I fall short. This doesn’t add to having good character so I keep doing the best I can to answer them.
Choose wisely sweet friends and know that I love you all. I am choosing to send you all a gentle pink hug.

Sarah-Pink Welch ©2013

Facebook: Sarah-Pink’s PromiseCharacterislikeaTreeflatJ

Leave a Reply

