Lesson #23 Appreciation


Appreciation.  What a lovely, 5 syllable word.  I looked it up in the dictionary and this is what I found:

noun

1.

gratitude; thankful recognition: They showed their appreciationby giving him a gold watch.
2.

the act of estimating the qualities of things and giving them their proper value.
3.

clear perception or recognition, especially of aesthetic quality: a course in art appreciation.
4.

an increase or rise in the value of property, goods, etc.
5.

critical notice; evaluation; opinion, as of a situation, person,etc.
 
Last night, like many other nights, I went outside.  It was a cloudless, full moon, January night.  The stars were amazing as usual and once again, took my breath away.  I get the same feeling when I hear small children laughing, or when a spring breeze blows my wind  chimes around.  Appreciation.  The noun.  For as long as I can remember I have had a deep appreciation for the small things in my part of the world.  My grandpa, who is now on the other side once said to me when I was crouched down,  overjoyed in a field of wild violets….most folks think those are weeds sweetie.  Oh my, oh my!!!  Two dozen roses, delivered in a box can’t take my breath away like wild violets.  Then again, I also think the dandelion needs to be our national flower.  🙂
Small things.  Blowing bubbles like a child, playing jump rope, finding cool stones in a creek, listening to the crickets at night in the summer.  Small things that I don’t take for granted.  My intention has always been, not to miss a thing.  I pay attention to everything and stay away from sensory overload.  I see the rainbows, I see the first snowflakes, I hear the first rumble of thunder off in the distance, I see the newest buds on the tress, I watch the older man and woman as they dance together like they did when they were younger.
I appreciate all of it.  I believe and recognize the “aesthetic” quality of what others may call weeds or noise or weather.
Take some time to pause and breathe.  Look up once in awhile, or look down when you take a walk in the park…like head for the trees and allow yourself to be filled with appreciation of the small things.
 
Sarah-Pink Welch ©2012
 
Facebook: Sarah-Pink’s Promise
 
                                                                                                                                                                                                     
                                                                                                                                                                                                           
 
 
One thought on “Lesson #23 Appreciation

Leave a Reply

