Lesson #2 *** Words *** Word *** Words ***


This Is What I Know For Sure Today:
Last week a 12 year old girl took her life because she was being bullied incessantly, and it appears that she could no longer take it.
Earlier this week an 11/12 year old boy who was bullied at home and school shot a couple of students-killed a teacher-then himself…he left a suicide note. Tuesday or yesterday a 14 year old boy who was bullied as a young child became a bully himself and shot and killed his 24 year old teacher. What it comes down to is this…bullies are not born they are created. And only WE can make the difference in the lives of the kids and others.
What a child sees and hears they learn; what they learn they practice; what they practice they become.
Words have more power than you can imagine. If used with care, words can hear, they will cause laughter, they inspire hope. On the other hand, words can destroy, they can harm, they can cause chaos and drama.
I love words. I am also very aware and cautious about what I say and what I write. As the saying goes, you can’t unring a bell. Once you’ve said something or written something, it is out there forever.
As you know, I watch people a lot. I also listen to the way they speak and the words they use. Things like; I am broke, I will never get another job, I hate you, why was I ever born, those people are going to give me a heart attack. And if I am around these people as they age…who who have said these things; I can guarantee you that they will never have enough money, never love the job they have, and will spend too much time wishing they were dead, and people who talk about the heart attack, headache, back ache will get those exact thing into their lives’. There is a saying, “what you think about, you bring about.” In the bible a scripture says, ‘as a man thinks so he is”. God SPOKE the world into existence. Do you see the power words have?
I have worked with so many people that believe they have no worth, no value, wish they had never been born, believe that they are inherently bad, that they a stupid or they were a mistake and worse.
You can build someone up with words, you can help them heal, you can encourage them to risk trying something they really want to do. Words can be soothing. They can help others feel love and hope. They can also cut people like a knife. One word from an adult can change a child’s life in a negative way forever. One word from an adult can improve the quality of a child’s self-esteem forever.
I want to encourage you to take time to speak if you are angry. I want to encourage you not to send that letter you wrote in haste when you were hurt. I want to encourage you to never use words that are demeaning and hurtful around a child.
If you are blessed enough to be given the chance to encourage someone who is broken, hurting, alone, afraid, ill, hopeless….please use that opportunity for the better. If everyone would just think before they speak or write something, many people would not be hurting now.
Remember the power of words and use them with wisdom.
I am sending you all pink, happy-happy-happy huggz.

Sarah-Pink Welch ©2013

Facebook: Sarah-Pink’s Promise

Facebook:  Sarah-Pink’s PromiseBeCarefulWithWords1

Leave a Reply

