Lesson #7 Gifts, Santa Claus, and All That Jazz


It is probably fair to say that people are still out shopping for Christmas on this Thursday evening.

As I recall, I started hearing Christmas ads in October which I found to be totally insane.  I love Christmas but all the shopping and things isn’t what Christmas is supposed to be about.  I feel sad for children these days and as a child I remember hearing my dad say the very same thing.  So maybe some things haven’t changed so much.  I just wish kids were able to use their imagination or better still be encouraged to find some.

As you know I am a Jesus believer.  I’m not religious but I am spiritual.  So all the shopping and racing around looses me.  I make gifts as often as I can and keep my ‘Giving” list short.  Very short. I would rather give my time, clothes I never wear, some homemade cookies, or do some Christmas caroling in the neighborhood than buy things that don’t last.  Not that cookies will last, but folks seem to remember those.  🙂

Santa claus comes from a real man; Saint Nicholas who lived in the 4th century.  You should check him out, he was a very interesting guy and really gives an honest reality check to our present day Santa Claus.  Now we are all about electronics and gadgets.  What happened to traditions??  What has happened to our families??

Jesus is the reason for Christians to celebrate Christmas and with our infinite human intellect we have really messed that up.

I think it would be so great if no one could shop for anything until the week before Christmas or better yet, we had to make our own gifts to give.  Kids in Cincinnati are hungry and cold, it’s raining right now and I know that some are outside and they are wet.  But, no…we shop.  We party like there’s no tomorrow.  Kids write letters to Santa Claus and their parents max out their credit cards just to make sure everyone stays happy.

Take your children to a soup kitchen and volunteer.  Read them the Christmas story; the real one that is in the Bible.  Ask them to gather up all the toys they never play with anymore…clean them up and donate them to a hospital or daycare center.  Take them for a walk in the park and talk about what is real and hope filled.  I have yet to find hope in my computer.  Help them get their imagination in gear.   Make popcorn and string it up for your tree then feed the squirrels the popcorn later.  Make a gingerbread house from scratch then let the birds have it.

Traditions begin with us.  We pass them on to our children and if we are really smart and use our imaginations Christmas can really mean something again.

Love & Peace Always

                                                                                                             Sarah© 2011

                                                                                                     hopeslifecoaching.com

Leave a Reply

